Stirring symphonies for new York Guildhall Orchestra season

12 Aug 2013 @ 9.16 am
| News
Pianist Alessandro Taverna joins the orchestra in October
Pianist Alessandro Taverna joins the orchestra in October

Stellar soloists and stirring symphonies are at the heart of the York Guildhall Orchestra’s new season.

Tickets for the Saturday 19 October, Saturday 8 February, and Saturday 17 May shows are on sale now, priced £15.00-£22.00.

After last year’s acclaimed achievement, when the orchestra played all of Mahler’s symphonies, its 34th season sees them embark on another musical adventure.

The Barbican Centre’s resident orchestra will set out on a journey through all of the symphonies of the inspiring Finnish composer, Jean Sibelius.

“Very different works to those of Mahler, but no less technically challenging for the orchestra, these are absolutely glorious music to listen to,” said a spokeswoman for the Barbican. The orchestra plays Sibelius’s first symphony along with the stirring Finlandia in the February concert.
They will also be welcoming three soloists to play with them this season. Renowned pianist Alessandro Taverna will be joining the orchestra playing the brilliant third piano concerto of Prokofiev in the October concert.

Violinist David Greed will feature in the February concert. David is the leader of Opera North, but has guest lead many other orchestras including the Philharmonia, City of Birmingham, BBC National Orchestra of Wales and the BBC Philharmonic.

And in May, John Wallace makes a most welcome return to play the popular Hummel trumpet concerto in the May performance.

The season

Saturday, October 19, 2013 7.30pm

Tchaikovsky – Polonaise & Waltz from Eugine Onegin
Prokofiev – Piano Concerto No. 3. Soloist – Alessandro Taverna
Rachmaninov – Symphony No 2

Saturday, February 8, 2014 7.30pm

Sibelius – Finlandia
Bruch – Violin Concerto No 1. Soloist – David Greed
Blackford – Symphonic Dances (World Premiére).
Sibelius – Symphony No 1

Saturday, May 17, 2014 7.30pm

Dukas – Sorcerer’s Apprentice
Hummel – Trumpet Concerto. Soloist – John Wallace
Holst – The Planets Suite.


  • For more information on York Guildhall Orchestra, visit their website
  • To book tickets for the concerts, visit the York Barbican website, phone 0844 854 2757 or buy in person from our box office (open Monday-Friday, 10am-2pm)