Promotion could be back on for York City, as play-offs are now on the table

Bootham Crescent. Photograph: Richard McDougall
16 Jun 2020 @ 1.17 pm
| News

York City’s promotion hopes were boosted today as the National League changed its mind on play-offs.

When the season came to an abrupt end City were top of National League North.

But a proposal to decide promotion on a points-per-game (PPG) basis would see Kings Lynn Town leapfrog City and go up automatically.

While the National League was happy for play-offs to take place in the higher division, it was planning to scrap them in the North and South leagues.

In response to this potential sporting injustice, City launched a #Promote2 campaign, which received widespread backing.

It urged the league to promote two clubs – either on PPG or via play-offs.

Today (Tuesday) City received information from the National League asking clubs to vote on an ‘Ordinary Resolution’ which would see play-offs reinstated at all levels.

Renewed hope

The City faithful are only asking for fairness. Photograph © Ian Parker / Ice Photography

The club welcomed the change.

A spokeswoman for City said: “Thanks to the personal efforts of many people, including members of parliament and key senior figures within the game and with support from fans, media and fellow clubs, alongside the impact of the club’s #Promote2 campaign, we now have a new focus and a renewed hope.

“The league has communicated that, should play-offs go ahead, clubs would have to issue indemnities and warranties and adhere to government coronavirus guidelines for elite sports.”

The league hasn’t said what will happen if clubs do not vote in favour of play-offs, or should the play-offs be cancelled.

“However, we would hope that based on fairness, integrity of the league and sporting merit, that the National League board would automatically promote the top two teams based on league positions after the unweighted points per game calculation,” City said.

Clubs have been given a deadline of 5pm tomorrow (Wednesday 17 June) to vote.