New date set for first match at LNER stadium – when York City’s season resumes

28 Jan 2021 @ 7.56 am
| Sport

We have a new date for the first football match at York’s new stadium.

The National League halted the season for two weeks. The decision followed talks over the financial challenges, and safety during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Fixtures were halted from Friday 22 January until Friday 5 February.

It has now been confirmed that National League North clubs will continue, with the first scheduled fixtures on Saturday, 6 February.

This means the first match at the LNER Community Stadium will see York City play Farsley Celtic on Saturday, 13 February.

Before that they have two away matches, at Alfreton Town (Sat 6 Feb) and Darlington (Sat 9 Feb).

Here are the other rearranged fixtures:

City’s away trip to AFC Telford United, postponed on Saturday 23 January, will move to Tuesday 11 May.

The home game against Curzon Ashton, postponed on Saturday 30 January, will move to Tuesday 18 May.

Two previously postponed games have been rearranged and will now be played in March.

  • Tuesday 2nd March (7.45pm) – York City v Gloucester City
  • Tuesday 9th March (7:45pm) – York City vs Gateshead.

Both fixtures are scheduled to be played at the LNER Community Stadium.