YorkMix wins Best Website at the O2 Media Awards

Jack Gevertz, Richard McDougall and Chris Titley of YorkMix receive the award for Best Website
7 Oct 2016 @ 7.34 pm
| Business, News

YorkMix has taken the title of Best Website at a prestigious awards ceremony.

York’s digital news magazine took the title at the O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire And The Humber.

The gong was announced at a ceremony held in the Northern Ballet in Leeds, which saw a gathering of the great and the good from across the region, featuring print, online, radio and television journalists.

YorkMix was also highly commended in the Online Media Award category, won by business title Insider.

Nicola Green, director of communications and reputation at O2 UK, said the awards had produced exceptional examples of regional journalism in what had been a memorable year for news events.

“O2 is proud to be associated with these awards which showcase the very best examples of local and regional journalism,” she added.

York winners

Other winners on the night included BBC Radio York, which took the Team Of The Year Award, partly for the station’s coverage of December’s floods.

Elly Fiorentini and Sarah Urwin from Radio York were highly commended in the radio journalist category, and breakfast presenter Georgey Spanswick was highly commended in the Broadcast Presenter (Radio) category.

Two York publications, Little Vikings and Yorkshire Living, were highly commended in the Team Of The Year (Print) category, and York Press photographer Frank Dwyer got the same commendation in the photography category.

Leeds papers the Yorkshire Post and Yorkshire Evening Post took a number of awards. The O2 Stand Out Award went to BBC Look North anchor and weatherman Harry Gration and Paul Hudson, who raised £300K for Sport Relief after walking, tied together, for 125 miles.

BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin hosted the awards evening. Leeds sisters Ellie & Izzi, stars of Channel 4 hit Gogglebox, presented one award, as did Emmerdale star Isabel Hodgins and Pride of Britain winner Bailey Matthews.