Video: Meet the Great Yorkshire Fringe New Comedian of the Year

Champions… David Bawden (centre) with Umby Winters (left) and David Eagle
28 Jul 2019 @ 7.54 pm
| Entertainment

David Bawden has been crowned Great Yorkshire Fringe New Comedian of the Year 2019.

Bawden, 29, from Birkenhead who now lives in Elsemere Port, was a massive hit with both the audience and judging panel at the Grand Opera House in York.

His slow paced delivery of killer one -iners saw him take home the £750 cash prize after beating Sheffield’s David Eagle and Tyneside’s Umby Winters, who collected £500 and £250 respectively.

All three received flat caps and David Bawden’s name will be added to the roll of honour on The Great Yorkshire Fringe New Comedian of the Year trophy, which is displayed all year round in the Museum of Comedy in London – previous winners:

  • Tom Taylor (2015)
  • Simon Lomas (2016)
  • Jack Gleadow (2017), and
  • Mark Grimshaw (2018).

Others taking part in the 2019 final were Michael Akadiri, Howard Anstock, Nick Crooks, Hadfield and Swan and Hannah Platt.

Second win

‘Unreal…’ David Bawden
It was a second comedy win for David Bawden in just weeks – earlier this month he won the Jason Manford New Act Competition 2019.

David said

  • The standard of the competion tonight in York was insane and I really couldn’t believe it when they announced I was the winner. Unreal.

    This year has just been absolutely insane. What an incredible final this was. Well done everyone.

Bawden, a marketing executive at a marine services company, has only gigged for 16 months.

Now in its fifth year and sponsored by Leicester Square Theatre, The Great Yorkshire Fringe New Comedian of the Year contest featured seven nightly heats and two semi finals held in The Teapot on Parliament Street, on the hottest days of the year.

The final took place on one of Yorkshire’s biggest stages, the Grand Opera House.

The Great Yorkshire Fringe New Comedian of the Year competition is open to any non-professional act who has been performing for five years or less.

The only restriction is that all contestants must stick to five minutes of original material or risk disqualification.

All finalists will now automatically be entered in the Leicester Square Theatre New Comedian of the Year Semi Finals in the West End with a grand final on December 17.

Last year’s winner, Mark Grimshaw also performed. The final was compered by Mick Ferry.