Result: Lib Dem leader Nigel Ayre holds on to his seat


The new Liberal Democrat leader Nigel Ayre has held on to his Heworth Without seat.

He got 966 votes – down from 1,318 in 2019. But he still had a comfortable majority of 645.

Cllr Ayre, who hopes to take over from his former colleague Keith Aspden as City of York Council leader, was there to listen to the declaration (earlier we said he wasn’t – apologies!).