The New Matrix: A Tribute to Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Soprano: Anna Snow
Clarinet: Jonathan Sage
Piano: Tim Brooks
Director David Lancaster

Harrison Birtwistle: La Plage
Birtwistle: Verses
Birtwistle: Ostinato with Melody
Morton Feldman: Three Clarinets
Olivier Messiaen: Abime des Oiseaux
Peter Maxwell Davies: Farewell to Stromness
Plus short pieces composed as tributes to Sir Harrison Birtwistle.

Clarinettist Alan Hacker was a long-term collaborator with Harrison Birtwistle, notably in the Pierrot Players in the 1960s (with Peter Maxwell Davies), and subsequently with Hacker’s Matrix Ensemble. Formerly a clarinettist himself, Birtwistle enjoyed writing for the homogeneous group. Birtwistle counted Messaien and Feldman amongst his strongest musical influences so they are included here, along with a series of short musical tributes to Birtwistle, composed following his death in 2022.

6.45pm – preconcert talk by David Lancaster with a complimentary glass of wine or juice

More info »